Skip to content

The Idiot Sheet

May 2, 2010

One of the things I hate more than anything in the world is putting something together ( i.e. baby cribs, shelves, furniture, exercise equipment)….the words “some assembly required” terrify me.

But one thing I hate more than that, is to be within a 10 mile radius while my hubby is putting something together…. It’s seriously such a nerve racking and emotional roller coaster….

And, right now, my hubby is behind me putting together my new elliptical…I know, I know….I’m am either gonna have to muster up nerves of steel to stay in the same room….or go find something else to do …quickly…

When we lugged the box up stairs, I said: “can I help you put this together?” As every man with any ounce of pride would respond, he said “no” and I could have sworn he rolled his eyes…

And funny thing is ….he is ALWAYS excited about putting stuff together….at first.

As he ripped the box open, he joyful proclaimed: “Well, there’s the idiot sheet”…or what we women call “the instructions”…I didn’t pay attention to whether or not he tossed it to the side or actually began to read it because I didn’t want to know…I just said “ok, no cussing…” he is not one to cuss, but those Christian cusswords sometimes come flying out…he again looked at me like I just sprouted wings and said “come on, now…” (like I am soooooo underestimating him)

So I will let him be….and I am trying to not look behind me…but there are so many parts, screws, and other foreign objects….just laying around….some parts are recognizable….some aren’t……and when he began putting it together, he was whistling and all joyful. But I am not stupid and I knew the happy times would give way to some difficult times ahead….

and 5, 4, 3, 2…

”SHOOT!” There it goes, the infamous S bomb…he dropped it….

Apparently the manufacturer didn’t make some wires long enough…(now, it’s my turn to roll eyes)

Usually, what conquers him in his heroic attempts to fill the “assembly man” shoes that every father/husband is obligated to, is the “missing piece”….

There is always a missing piece….

Yea right.

I mean sure, every once in a while the manufacturer MIGHT leave out a part or 2.…but if they left out a part every time the male species swore to it….they would all be out of business….

The other thing I hear frequently, as I am sure every other female does is “well, the instructions are wrong”….

Usually, though, in my experience, the problem lies solely with the one attempting to put the item together.

And the real frustration happens when it’s not coming together as fast we would like…

Or it doesn’t begin to look like we pictured …. soon enough…

Usually when assembling items, …. they don’t begin to resemble what they are suppose to until it is almost finished….and sometimes we look at it and think wow, something is wrong this doesn’t even look close…. but if we keep following the instructions …it pays off.

And in the silliest way, I feel like my life and God’s will for my life at various times has looked like these pieces scattered on my floor…

How could they EVER resemble what I have pictured I my mind….or any semblance of the will of God???

But the Lord is like the manufacturer of these products….they know their product better than anyone else….and the Lord knows His will for our lives better than we do…

Sometimes he only gives us one piece at a time… but he equips us…

May the God of peace … equip you with everything good for doing his will, and may he work in us what is pleasing to him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen. (Hebrews 13:20-21)

And sometimes we try to jump ahead.

I want the pedal thingies on my elliptical to be put on there NOW….so it will look right…but if hubby puts them on now…the whole thing will be messed up in the end…so let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

Abraham found that out the hard way…

The Lord said he would give Abraham and Sarah a child….but Sarah was barren…

Abraham decided to “help God” and went ahead of God’s will and had Ishmael with Haggar…sure he got the kid, isn’t that what God promised???

No. Abraham’s lack of faith and impatience cause him to jump ahead of the Lord….he wanted to see the finished product before it was time….and Ishmael was not what the Lord had promised….it was Isaac….

I get frustrated with Abraham because I think, man, at least he knew the outcome of the promise WOULD be a child. God said so. God has not always been as forthcoming with me. It’s been more like, Jill, just WAIT ….uuggghhh….hate that word…

And I KNOW God has a plan….he always does….but lately, I’m only getting one piece at a time…

And the finished product is not looking like anything I can even imagine…

But, the idiot sheet is there…I know what you’re thinking…you are calling the Bible an idiot sheet?? Well, kinda….I mean, it is many times only utilized after we have acted like idiots or done idiotic things and need answers….right???

And what does the Word of God say?….

And he made known to us the mystery of his will according to his good pleasure, which he purposed in Christ, to be put into effect when the times will have reached their fulfillment ….Ephesians 1:9-10

Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is. (Ephesians 5:17)

But, that doesn’t mean I won’t get frustrated trying to assemble the pieces…

And, knowing me, I will swear the manufacturer (God) missed something along the way….

But the Bible says that His ways are higher than our ways and His thoughts higher than our thoughts….

We can’t even begin to imagine what’s going on in his mind…

And now, hubby is rejoicing behind me because everything seems to be coming together again…no problems….

Then he calls me over to help him hold a piece steady…

Sometimes we have to call on our friends, family, mentors, etc. to help us “hold this piece” while I do this or that….

We can’t do it alone. God is there. But he intended for us to be there for each other.

Maybe you aren’t assembling pieces in your life right now…but maybe someone else is…

You could help “hold a piece”….

Hubby couldn’t put the machine together if he had no one to hold some of the parts for him while he threaded the wires in and screwed on some other parts….

Are you staring at a jumbled mess of scattered pieces? You don’t know where to begin to start putting your life back together….

Why not try the “idiot sheet”? and if you’re not sure how that one part is going to fit in…just pray and sit back and wait and in time, you will see where that piece fits perfectly into what God has for you….and in the meantime, do what you know to do with the pieces you have…put them in place…

And difficult times will come…and you’ll want to scream and maybe cuss “Why God?” But you can’t stop. Pick up the instructions….

‘Cause I don’t know about you….but He’s still workin’ on me….

From → Life

One Comment
  1. Jay Forshage permalink

    Very well put.

Leave a Reply

